Sumter County, Georgia 
Click to Home Page

Go To Search
Click to Home Page
Board of Commissioners Members & Meetings

Sumter County is divided into five districts. One Commissioner is elected from each district and serves a four-year term. All are elected on staggered terms.

The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the County Commission are elected each year by the five member Board.

Board Members 

Clay Jones, Chairman     (District 1)

Scott Roberson      (District 4)
George Torbert      (District 3)
Mark Waddell       (District 2)
Thomas Jordan     (District 5)


Type of Meeting

Regular Day


Work Session Second Tuesday of the month 6:00 pm
Regular Board Meeting Third Tuesday of the month 6:00 pm

Sumter County
500 W. Lamar St.
P.O. Box 295
Americus, Georgia 31709
Ph: (229) 928-4500
Fax: (229) 928-4503
Hours: 8:30 am to 5:00 pm